British Taekwondo

Update in British Taekwondo AGM

British Taekwondo held their 2016 Annual General Meeting on Saturday 26th November in Manchester.

A number of important decisions were taken, not least the adoption of a revised set of Articles that fully align with requirements set out in the statutes of the WTF and the ETU.

In addition, the ratification of a group of Directors also took place including that of Sarah Stevenson, ex Olympic medalist, as a Non Executive Director and Jon Smith as an Independent Director and Chair.

Two Board appointments were not ratified and British Taekwondo will now look to address these positions as soon as possible.

Jon Smith, Chair of British Taekwondo stated ‘I am delighted that we have adopted new Articles and continue with our plans to progress and develop the organisation. As a member focussed board we will obviously respect the decision by the voting members that attended not to ratify some of the proposed Board members but do so with a degree of regret. I would like to thank Ian Leafe for his support and input and would particularly like to recognise the outstanding contribution of Tom Stammer over recent months. We hope to be able to find an appropriate role for him at some point in the future. We will now be focussing on continuing the successful growth of British Taekwondo on behalf of our membership.’

Mark Abberley
British Taekwondo