No image available

3rd WTF World Taekwondo Poomsae Championships Wrap Up in Success

The 3rd WTF World Taekwondo Poomsae Championships concluded in a resounding success for good reasons in Ankara, Turkey on Dec. 18, 2008.

The three-day poomsae championships, which took place at the ASKI Sport Hall, drew a total of 371 athletes and 150 officials from 50 countries. Germany, Russia, Spain, the United States and host Turkey dispatched more than 20 players for the Ankara event.

It was the first time that the WTF-promoted annual poomsae championships, which were inaugurated in 2006, took place outside Korea.

The overall title went to Korea, which won eight gold medals, one silver and one bronze, followed by Iran with three golds, three silvers and four bronzes. Spain came next with three golds, one silver and five bronzes.

Host Turkey finished at fourth with one gold, six silvers and three bronzes, while Vietnam ranked fifth in the overall medal tally with one gold, one silver and one bronze.

At the awarding ceremony, WTF President Chungwon Choue honored five best referees, who officiated at the 3rd WTF World Taekwondo Poomsae Championships.

The five referees were France’s Jong Wan Kim, Venezuela’s Maria Nelly Chacin, the United States’ Raymond Hsu, Korea’s Jin-beom Kim and Turkey’s Galip Ualcin Kaya.

Korea’s Se-hoon Jang, the gold medalist in the men’s individual 1st junior division, was selected as the Best Male Athlete to receive the Samsung Blue Passion Award, while Marie Angeles Urmeneta Torres of Spain was chosen as the Best Female Athlete of the 3rd WTF World Taekwondo Poomsae Championships.

The third and final day of the poomsae championships featured five categories. The three days of competition put a total of 16 gold medals up for grabs.

In the men’s 2nd senior division (those between 31 and 40 years old), Iran’s Mohammad Taghi Hatami Marbini won the gold medal, while Korea’s Hyeok-ju Oh settled for the silver medal. The bronze went to Germany’s Marcus Ketteniss and Spain’s Pedro Campillo Frontera.

In the women’s 2nd senior category, Korea’s Nam-joeng Song earned her country the gold medal, while France’s Leila Kocheida clinched the silver. The bronze was shared by Chinese Taipei’s Wu Chin-Lin and Iran’s Fatemeh Asadpour.

In the women’s 1st master division (41-50 years), Korean Yeong-ae Seo grabbed the gold medal, while Iran’s Badri Asadialamshiri clinched the silver. The bronze went to the United States’ Dure Chang and Spain’s Yolanda Ubero Alcaniz.

A trio of Iranian male players (Ali Salmani Azarkhavarani, Hamid Nazarigharehchomagh, and Ail Najafabadi) earned their country the gold medal in the men’s 1st team category (14-35 years). The silver went to Turkey (Fazli Karisik, Ibrahim Ucan, and Adil Tekin), while the bronze went to Egypt (Abdel Fatah Metwalli, Karim El-Arabi, and Ahmed Shaker) and the Philippines (Brian Alan L. Sabido, Jean Pierre L. Sabido, and Anthony Ray C. Matias).

In the women’s 1st team division, host Turkey’s three female athletes (Rabia Kim, Ozlem Tumay, and Elif Aybuke Yilmaz) clinched the gold medal, while the silver went to Iran (Sanaz Khorami Pour, Nastaran Maleki Aderani, and Golsoum Mollamadadkhani). The bronze went to Egypt (Rohanda Ammar, Menna El-Kaissy, and Salma El-Wakeel) and France (Parroche Katia, Menjikoff Loiuse, and Kocheida Leila).

Taken from the WTF Website.

Full results day one, click here.

Full results day two, click here

Full results day three, click here