Made in Manchester – GB Taekwondo name squad for home World Grand Prix

Double Olympic champion Jade Jones and twice World Championship gold medallist, Bianca Walkden, are named in a 16-strong squad for the World Taekwondo Grand Prix in Manchester from October 19-21.

The duo won the overall Grand Prix titles in their respective weight divisions last year with heavyweight Walkden unbeaten in the 2017 Grand Prix series.

In 2018, Liverpudlian Bianca Walkden has claimed silver and bronze medals in the Rome and Taoyuan editions of the series while teammate Jones has a 100 percent success rate from her one appearance in the Italian capital.

The Manchester trained GB squad has claimed a total of nine medals from this year’s Grand Prix events while South Korea and Russia are the only nations to have won more medals.

There is plenty of positivity heading into the first Grand Prix event staged in Manchester since 2015.

GB Performance Director, Gary Hall, and his selectors have chosen some of the world’s best fighters in the squad plus a number of exciting prospects including 2018 World Junior champion Jordyn Smith from Scotland.

The men’s squad features reigning European gold medallist at -68kg, Christian McNeish from London while in the same weight division is Yorkshire’s prolific medal winner, Bradly Sinden.

Sinden, a World Championship bronze medallist at -63kg in 2017, beat his team mate on the way to a silver medal at the London Grand Prix 12 months ago.

Nearly five years after striking gold at the inaugural Grand Prix in 2013-again in Manchester- Londoners Mahama Cho and double Olympian Lutalo Muhammad take on the rest of the world at +80kg.

Damon Sansum, who won his second World Championship medal in South Korea last year, fights at -80kg, looking to improve on a Grand Prix record of two bronze medals.

There will be a Grand Prix debut in the women’s competition for rising starlet, Molly Dunbavin. The 18-year-old is part of the GB Development squad and represented Great Britain at the World Junior Championships earlier this year.



Hassan Haider (Falkirk)


Christian McNeish (Plaistow), Bradly Sinden (Doncaster), Josh Calland (Liverpool)


Damon Sansum (Elgin)


Mahama Cho (Stockwell); Lutalo Muhammad (Walthamstow)



Jordyn Smith (Carronshore), Maddison Moore (Blakedown)


Rachelle Booth (Wigan), Jade Jones (Flint), Kyla Julien (Huddersfield)


Molly Dunbavin (Wakefield), Lauren Williams (Newport).


Rebecca McGowan (Dumbarton), Bianca Walkden (Liverpool).


The World Taekwondo Manchester Grand Prix takes place




at the Regional Arena in Manchester.

Tickets for the World Taekwondo Manchester Grand Prix are now on general sale with day and sessional passes available at with tickets starting from £11 adults and £6 juniors.